Tag Archives: the glitch mob

FORPE Presents: The Silent Ballet’s Top 50 Tracks of 2014

50) Blurry Lights – We All Die but Not Tonight
49) Parra for Cuva – Unfold
48) Outputmessage – The Infinite Void
47) Ehgo – For the Wounds
46) Maybeshewill – In Amber
45) 80kidz – Venge
44) Luke Howard – Cibi
43) Tired Tape Machine – Stella’s Other Waltz
42) Petrels – Wat Tyler
41) Waking Aida – How to Build a Space Station


40) Submotion Orchestra – Awakening
39) Sima Kim – You Cast Shadow on My Sky
38) Max Cooper – Impacts
37) The Bug – Void (ft. Liz Harris)
36) Tomorrow We Sail – December
35) Rosetta – Soot
34) Pray for Sound – Decayer
33) Ez3kiel – Dead in Valhalla
32) Roll the Dice – Assembly
31) Talvihorros – Secrets of the Sky

30) Origamibiro – Butterfly Jar
29) Whale Fall – I Shall Sail No More (No More Shall I Sail)
28) Haywyre – The Schism
27) Hans Zimmer – Spinning Dock
26) Nomads – In Fields of Light
25) Janek Schaefer – Inner Space Memorial (For J.G. Ballard)
24) Beats Antique – Dragon’s Eye
23) Beware of Safety – Bullet
22) Arcade Fire & Owen Pallett – Song on the Beach
21) Slow Magic – Girls

20) Wang Wen – Welcome to Utopia
19) Ben Frost – Venter (Evan Christ Remix)
18) Alexander Turnquist – Red Carousel
17) Rumour Cubes – A Homecoming
16) BADBADNOTGOOD – Can’t Leave The Night
15) Christina Vantzou – Sister
14) Sleepmakeswaves – Something Like Avalanches
13) Blueneck – Anything Other than Breathing
12) The Glitch Mob – Can’t Kill Us
11) Jakob – Emergent

10) Hauschka – Elizabeth Bay
9) Franz Kirmann – Dancing on the Edge of the Void
8) Mogwai – Remurded
7) Shield Patterns – Dust Hung Heavy
6) Adebisi Shank – Sensations
5) Hunt – Reset My Bones
4) Odesza – Say My Name (ft. Zyra)
3) Christopher Tignor – Listening Machines
2) A Winged Victory for the Sullen – Atomos VI
1) Tycho – Montana

Artist of the Week: Glitch Mob – Love Death Immortality

Piggybacking off the charm of lead single “Can’t Kill Us,” The Glitch Mob’s new album is sure to be a crowd-pleaser.

The trio of Ed Ma, Justin Boreta, and Josh Mayer formed The Glitch Mob in 2006 while each was busy DJing in California. 2010 saw the release of the spectacular debut Drink the Sea, and another four years has gifted us Love Death Immortality. Those who loved the crisp hip hop beats and dance floor vibes of Drink the Sea will undoubtedly feel back at home with Love Death Immortality, which replaces much of the introspection of the debut with the breakneck energy and euphoria of electronica’s current dubstep craze. Vocals are more prominent here as well, but they tend to be either be heavily augmented, buried in the mix, or scarce on the whole — all which play well with the group’s strong instrumental presence. Tracks like “Can’t Kill Us,” “Carry the Sun,” and “Skytoucher” are standout singles (some of which would fit comfortable inside the Tron soundtrack), but the album as a whole is also surprisingly coherent given the amount of genres the trio pulls from and styles they rotate through.

Although not for everyone, Love Death Immortality should be essential listening to fans of electronica, and given dubstep’s current influence of pop music today, The Glitch Mob is just a dedicated vocalist away from crossing into the mainstream.

website | order