Tag Archives: wang wen

FORPE Presents: The Silent Ballet’s Top 50 Tracks of 2014

50) Blurry Lights – We All Die but Not Tonight
49) Parra for Cuva – Unfold
48) Outputmessage – The Infinite Void
47) Ehgo – For the Wounds
46) Maybeshewill – In Amber
45) 80kidz – Venge
44) Luke Howard – Cibi
43) Tired Tape Machine – Stella’s Other Waltz
42) Petrels – Wat Tyler
41) Waking Aida – How to Build a Space Station


40) Submotion Orchestra – Awakening
39) Sima Kim – You Cast Shadow on My Sky
38) Max Cooper – Impacts
37) The Bug – Void (ft. Liz Harris)
36) Tomorrow We Sail – December
35) Rosetta – Soot
34) Pray for Sound – Decayer
33) Ez3kiel – Dead in Valhalla
32) Roll the Dice – Assembly
31) Talvihorros – Secrets of the Sky

30) Origamibiro – Butterfly Jar
29) Whale Fall – I Shall Sail No More (No More Shall I Sail)
28) Haywyre – The Schism
27) Hans Zimmer – Spinning Dock
26) Nomads – In Fields of Light
25) Janek Schaefer – Inner Space Memorial (For J.G. Ballard)
24) Beats Antique – Dragon’s Eye
23) Beware of Safety – Bullet
22) Arcade Fire & Owen Pallett – Song on the Beach
21) Slow Magic – Girls

20) Wang Wen – Welcome to Utopia
19) Ben Frost – Venter (Evan Christ Remix)
18) Alexander Turnquist – Red Carousel
17) Rumour Cubes – A Homecoming
16) BADBADNOTGOOD – Can’t Leave The Night
15) Christina Vantzou – Sister
14) Sleepmakeswaves – Something Like Avalanches
13) Blueneck – Anything Other than Breathing
12) The Glitch Mob – Can’t Kill Us
11) Jakob – Emergent

10) Hauschka – Elizabeth Bay
9) Franz Kirmann – Dancing on the Edge of the Void
8) Mogwai – Remurded
7) Shield Patterns – Dust Hung Heavy
6) Adebisi Shank – Sensations
5) Hunt – Reset My Bones
4) Odesza – Say My Name (ft. Zyra)
3) Christopher Tignor – Listening Machines
2) A Winged Victory for the Sullen – Atomos VI
1) Tycho – Montana

Artist of the Week: Wang Wen – Eight Horses

China’s Wang Wen has been in existence for the past 15 years. As a musical force it has always struggled with its identity and carving out a unique sound, but the music on Eight Horses may just be good enough that we won’t care anymore.

Let’s start things off by stating the obvious: “Welcome to Utopia” is a fantastic post-rock track. It is crafted with the utmost care, progresses through the staples of the genre, and delivers a satisfying conclusion to the album. The track also resides in that nice niche where tracks are long but don’t berate the audience with an onslaught of guitar buffoonery. “Utopia” develops slowly and is opened up mainly through a single insistent trumpet. Slow and steady wins the race.

Elsewhere, Eight Horses does a excellent job of pacing itself. “Northern North” opens in a similarly deliberate manner but climaxes with a more menacing, almost post-metal fury. “Sky of Dalian” piques our interest with a vibraphone before the guitars crush the frail percussive work and open the door for a agitated trumpet climax. “Ten Thousand Buddhas” is mostly about guitar rock and unleashes an interesting wave of hybrid math/post-rock compositions. As you may notice, the trend here is that Wang Wen love rocking out, and post-rock aficionados will find no shortage of crescendos on offer during Eight Horses.

When all is said and done, it’s certainly not difficult to trace the influences of Eight Horses back to their source. Earlier Wang Wen albums either seemed overly concerned with this and attempted to fashion something unique yet modern or were much too happy to genre-bate and copy whichever band was trendiest at the time. These efforts generally proved unsuccessful; Eight Horses, by contrast, walks a middle line where Wang Wen knows what it excels at, sticks to it, and doesn’t appear to worry too much about where on the spectrum this album will land. As usual, this is a winning combination that allows the band to play to its strengths an finally give us a rewarding album, through and through.

website | new china

Tracking the Trends – Chinese Post-Rock and Friends

Fragile or Possibly Extinct is celebrating its first month of existence with a special announcement: the return of Tracking the Trends. You’d have to be an “old-timer” to remember the original “Tracking the Trends,” an expose on instrumental music around the globe in which each edition focused on a specific country, but it is now being reborn at FORPE in mix tape form for all to enjoy.

The first edition of the newborn series focuses on the country of China. It is one that has intrigued us for years, been historically difficult to crack into, and undoubtedly contains more than a few hidden gems. Recent years have seen Chinese musicians begin to make a splash onto the Internet, and the first volume of Tracking the Trends picks out a handful of artists to watch.

Download mp3